top of page

On adventures we'll go

Writers from various backgrounds came together in the book launch of In Our Words, an anthology of works by the writers in the Young Writers Hangout by Where the Write Things Are.

Where the Write Things Are is an organization that aims to promote creative writing. With workshops for kids, teens, and adults, it culminates its workshops for teens and kids with the release of In Our Words, a compilation of notable works written throughout the year.

The young writers that are proud to celebrate their works in print

This year, the book launch was held at Fully Booked BGC, where writers small and tall gathered to read aloud and celebrate the works of their young peers.

Being asked to submit my short tribute to Roald Dahl, following my participation in the Roald Dahl-themed workshop, was an amazing experience. I was able to narrate my love of Roald Dahl’s books, and how they shaped my imagination and creativity.

Seeing my words printed alongside other young creatives’ was a spectacular treat to cap off the year. Reading my piece aloud to the book launch’s crowd gave me a sense of belonging—an indefinable feeling that I wasn’t alone in my words.

Relatives, mentors, and friends gather to culminate another year of Where the Write Things Are's workshops for kids and teens.

During the book launch, other writers got to read their pieces to the audience as well. Stories about epic battles and poems about self-discovery reverberated in the room as the authors gave voices to their words.

Throughout the event, I had the opportunity to reflect on the impact of literature on the young, and how it shapes them to be the people that they will grow up to be. As a teen who grew up reading Geronimo Stilton, I can say that I’ve come a long way from cheesy adventures, but still appreciate what those books taught me.

Growing up, I never fully realized how much books and stories meant to me until I started practicing what they had taught me. Through Geronimo Stilton, I learned about being courageous, and alongside Neville Longbottom, I stood up for what is right.

Just like kid and teen authors from In Our Words, I will continue to advocate for my love of the written word through promoting literacy in any way that I can. So I encourage you to pick up a book, or a pen, and go on adventures as vivid and spectacular as those of the young writers of In Our Words.

By Audrey Isabel L. Pe, 15

Multiple Intelligence International School

This article originally appeared in Manila Bulletin on December 16, 2016.

http://lifestyle.mb.com.ph/2016/12/16/on-adventures-well-go/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page