top of page

Children's Letters to God

I’m having a Pope Francis hangover. I was glued to the TV from the time Pope Francis arrived to the time he left Manila. I even watched all the press conferences with Fr. Lombardi and Cardinal Tagle. I just couldn’t have enough of Pope Francis who seemed like a rockstar with all the screaming and phones/iPads out when he passed by.

I loved watching all the videos (no matter how short or long it was) and photos (no matter how clear, blurry, near or far it was) posted on social media sites by my friends who saw Pope Francis. I was even checking the Twitter pages of the media personalities from the Philippines who were part of the Pope’s media group just to see some interesting post they could share.

I couldn’t stop reading articles about side stories about the Pope’s stay in the Philippines. From the food that he ate and his love for sweets, the menu on his PAL flights (that included Carmen’s Best Ice Cream, Oishi Gourmet Picks Chips—both brands that I love!), his room fixed by Josie Natori, to the interesting protocols of a Pope. I have to admit, I also enjoyed reading about the hot guys around him from his bodyguards, driver, and cameraman.

The Pope’s visit suddenly reminded me of our session with our 7-10 years old writers where we shared this book, Children’s Letters to God to them. I myself find the letters in this book so amusing, smart and some of them make me laugh out loud.

We asked our young writers to write at least three letters to God. Some of them even have drawings with their letters. Here are some of my favorite letters to God.

Dear God,

Why does evil keep on increasing everyday?

Theamae

Dear God,

Why didn’t you add winter in our country? We only have sunny, cloudy or rainy.

Theamae

Dear God,

Please make everyday weekday because I like studying.

Allyana

Dear God,

Are you happy in heaven?

Allyana

Dear God,

Why can’t you make all mushrooms edible? I’m asking this because I like them in my pasta.

Andrei

Dear God,

Why did you make robbers?

Alphonsus

Dear God,

Take care of my grandmother and father please.

Love,

AZ

Dear God,

When will my sister ever stop being annoying? Hahaha!

Sam

Dear God,

Why must there be earthquakes? You don’t want us to get hurt, right?

Sam

Dear God,

If you can give me fairy wings, I’ll give you 5 Rainbow looms, is that a deal?

Sachi

Dear God,

Can you give me Jedi powers that can make people listen to me so I can control my brother Mito? He’s always scaring me with his book with skeletons.

Sachi

Dear God,

Can you make everyday my birthday.

Love,

Maeven

Dear God,

Does everyday need to be spectacular?

Maita

Photo from Church House Bookshop

This article was first published in Manilaspeak.com on January 25, 2015

Summer Creative Writing Classes and Workshop for Kids and Teens:

  • Young Writers’ Hangout (1:30pm-3pm)

  • April 29: Practical Grammar for Creative Writing & Social Media with Nikki Alfar (guest author)

  • May 13, 20, 27: with guest authors

  • June 3:How to get writing ideas with Russel Molina (guest author)

  • Wonder of Words Workshop – May 8, 10, 12, 15, 17 and 19 (1:30pm-3:30pm for 8-12 years old; 4pm-6pm for 13-17 years old) with guest authors Pam Pastor, journalist and editor of Super section of Philippine Daily Inquirer; and Sarge Lacuesta, award winning fictionist and editor-at-large of Esquire Philippines Magazine

Venue is at Fully Booked, Bonifacio High Street. For more information and fee details, email writethingsph@gmail.com.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page