top of page

A Mother's Day Poem

A special mother’s day poem was written by one of Write Things Manila’s young writers from the 2017 batch. Andrea wrote this poem when she was 16 years old and was included in Write Things Manila’s annual anthology, In Our Own Words Volume 4 that was published in December 2017.

NANAIKU by Andrea, 16 years old

I’m not good with words In paper or aloud But I will still write

Card, bag, and flowers None of these can say the words That you want to hear

Though my mouth is shut My heart wants to sing a song Only for your ears

I don’t have a gift But if I could buy you the world I’d give you the stars

I’m not a kid but I’ll always be your daughter Happy Mother’s Day

*************************************************************

Young Writers’ Summer Hangout: Creative Writing Classes for Kids and Teens at Fully Booked BGC

  • May 12: Story writing from picture books with guest author, Mary Ann Ordinario

  • May 19: Poetry 101 with guest poet, Mookie Lacuesta

  • May 26: Making characters for fantasy stories with guest author, Gabriela Lee

  • June 2: Creative Nonfiction Writing with Teacher Roel Cruz

For inquiries and registration about creative writing classes for kids and teens by Write Things Manila, email writethingsph@gmail.com. You can also send inquiries here.

This article first appeared in Manilaspeak.com

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page