top of page

An Unexpected Letter

Have you ever wanted to write to your most hated fictional character? Our young writer, Zoe, 15 years old, shares her letter to Snow White. Yes, you read it correctly, it’s for Disney’s first Princess, Snow White!

I am so in love with this letter, or should I say hate mail? It’s brilliant.

Snoop at her letter and appreciate her disapproval for Snow White.

***

Dear Snow White,

I’m going to be brutally honest with you; out of all the princesses, you’re probably my least favorite princess. I don’t know where this came from since when I was little, you were one of my favorites but as I got older, I realized just how weird and twisted your story is.

One of my biggest issues with your story is how at the tender age of FOURTEEN, you just go off and live with seven men. Did this not seem strange to you? And with the old lady in the forest – why did you just randomly take the apple? I get that you have a gentle heart and all but even the kindest of people have some discernment in them. You, ma’am, have an incredibly strange thinking process and have obviously not been taught the idea of “don’t talk to strangers”.

If there was someone like you who lived in today’s society, I’d be very concerned and recommend you to get checked. You can’t trust every single person in the world; there are bad people out there, princess. And I don’t just mean an evil queen who wants to kill you for your apparent beauty. I mean people who will abuse your beauty and exploit you in the most vile and cruel ways possible. You might become a prostitute, a drug mule, more things very unbecoming of a “princess”. In today’s society, living with seven men who you don’t even know is really, really, REALLY questionable. (ESPECIALLY SINCE YOU’RE UNDERAGE, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD.)

Here’s another issue I have with you: your love story with the prince. Usually when people fall in love and get married with some random guy who’s infatuated with your beauty, it doesn’t end very well. You don’t know who this prince dude is, what he’s really like, and yet you go off with him and hope for a “happy ending”. How do you know if he’s not just some shallow loser who thinks beauty is the end all of everything? What if he turns out to be a prick who just wants you for your physical appearance and doesn’t actually care about you? How sure are you that what you feel for him is true love and how sure are you that what he feels about you is actually love and not something else?

Illustration by Shanna Quetulio

This letter is getting exceedingly long and I apologize for taking up so much of your time because I bet you have better things to do than sit and read someone’s hate mail toward you but I feel like not everyone gets a chance to write a letter to a fictional character of their own choice. I used my choice on you, Snow White; my least favorite Disney princess because I have a lot of feelings regarding you and I feel like if I don’t let them out now, I never will.

Still, thank you for taking the time to read this. I’m pretty sure you’re a nice human being but you’re just not my cup of tea. Thanks anyway for being a part of my childhood.

Sincerely,

Zoe

This article was first published in Manila Speak on May 17, 2015.

***

Where the Write Things Are is a creative writing center for kids, teens and adults. If you love writing or need some inspiration to get to write, our writing class is the place to be. Check out our monthly writing classes and Facebook page.

Creative Writing Classes for Kids, Teens and Adults:

1. Young Writers' Hangout - August 19, September 9, September 23, 2017 (1:30-3pm)

2. Adult Creative Writing Class: Speculative Fiction Writing with Dean Francis Alfar - September 16, 2017 (1:30pm-4:30pm)

Venue is at Fully Booked, Bonifacio High Street. For more information and fee details, email writethingsph@gmail.com.

Want to join one of our writing classes? Register now!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page